Home/Comparisons/GigSky vs Maya Mobile

GigSky vs Maya Mobile

Compare GigSky and Maya Mobile using dated country-package prices, coverage records and sourced activation and hotspot conditions.

The decision in context

Choose using the destination, trip length and total data you need. The tables use dated official-source records; they do not rank network speed, support quality or the entire market.

No shared destination is recorded for these two providers. This page compares the recorded coverage and published policies; it cannot establish a same-trip price winner.

Why there is no fixed-data price verdict

The recorded packages do not provide a shared qualifying fixed-data scenario. A missing quote is not evidence that a brand is expensive or unavailable. Choose a covered destination before comparing payment totals.

Unlimited-labelled alternatives are a different model

Unlimited-labelled data is not a verified total high-speed allowance. A hotspot limit describes sharing, not necessarily the handset fair-use threshold. The examples below are separate from the fixed-data price verdicts.

Maya Mobile

Iceland

USD 9.99

One-time Global land-data pass. Applicable indirect taxes included unless checkout states otherwise; no rewards discount applied. Auto Top-Up is optional and off by default according to current terms; enabling it authorizes repeat charges at expiry.

Unlimited-labelled data · 3 days

Price checked: 2026-11-05

Package and conditions →Official source ↗

High-speed data

5 GB per day in current product metadata; storefront no-throttling copy conflicts.

Official source ↗

Speed after the high-speed allowance

3 Mbps

Official source ↗

Allowance reset

High-speed quota resets every 24 hours under current terms; the reset clock anchor is not specified.

Official source ↗

Hotspot allowance

Personal hotspot/tethering included; no separate hotspot data cap stated. Fixed home/office broadband replacement and commercial resale are prohibited.

Official source ↗

Validity starts

Once connected to the network, as stated in the current plan Details dialog. Each day is 24 hours from plan start. A customer-facing deadline to begin using an unactivated purchase was not established.

Official source ↗

Maya Mobile

Iceland

USD 19.99

One-time Global land-data pass. Applicable indirect taxes included unless checkout states otherwise; no rewards discount applied. Auto Top-Up is optional and off by default according to current terms; enabling it authorizes repeat charges at expiry.

Unlimited-labelled data · 7 days

Price checked: 2026-11-05

Package and conditions →Official source ↗

High-speed data

5 GB per day in current product metadata; storefront no-throttling copy conflicts.

Official source ↗

Speed after the high-speed allowance

3 Mbps

Official source ↗

Allowance reset

High-speed quota resets every 24 hours under current terms; the reset clock anchor is not specified.

Official source ↗

Hotspot allowance

Personal hotspot/tethering included; no separate hotspot data cap stated. Fixed home/office broadband replacement and commercial resale are prohibited.

Official source ↗

Validity starts

Once connected to the network, as stated in the current plan Details dialog. Each day is 24 hours from plan start. A customer-facing deadline to begin using an unactivated purchase was not established.

Official source ↗

Where the catalogue has evidence

Numbers count dated package records in our catalogue, not all countries sold by each provider. A dash means no record here, not that the provider has no product.

Recorded destinationGigSkyMaya Mobile
Japan—4
Canada3—
Australia3—
Iceland—4
Malta—4

Activation, sharing and refund examples

These are selected published policy examples with their original scope. Read the exact package notes for country-specific exceptions; a general rule is not a promise for every product sold by a brand.

GigSky

Activation

Fixed-plan validity begins when the eSIM connects to a supported network in a covered country. Enable the eSIM as mobile data with roaming when ready; keep it off to avoid early activation. Once activated, the period continues and cannot be paused. Selected product-dialog marketing mentions activation within the next year, but the exact purchase-to-activation deadline was not independently established in the fixed-plan help article; confirm before purchase.

Applies to: Selected Canada and Australia Standard fixed-data plans; first supported-network connection trigger, not purchase or installation by itself.

Official source ↗

Hotspot

Hotspot is supported when the device supports Personal Hotspot or Mobile Hotspot. Connected devices consume the same plan balance. No separate numerical cap was established; this does not add unlimited data to a fixed package.

Applies to: General GigSky hotspot support applied to these paid Standard fixed-data packages; no unlimited-plan throttling rule imported.

Official source ↗

Topup

Fixed plans can have available top-ups purchased through the app or web app before or after data exhaustion; availability and prices depend on the selected plan. A new prepaid plan can also be added to the existing eSIM. Prepaid travel plans do not automatically renew; monthly subscriptions such as GigSky One are separate. Unused data expires when the original validity ends; no rollover or extension is guaranteed here.

Applies to: Paid Standard fixed-data plans; top-up availability must be checked in account. Complimentary Visa restrictions and GigSky One subscription terms are separate.

Official source ↗

Refund

Eligible refunds can be requested in app or web Transaction History. Eligibility is determined during the request process and each purchase is reviewed; approval is not guaranteed. Available refund options may be GigSky Credit or the original payment method. Original-payment refunds may take several business days depending on the bank; issued credit is available immediately. No fixed eligibility time window or usage threshold was established for these SKUs.

Applies to: Paid Canada and Australia Standard plans; complimentary Visa plans excluded from refund eligibility, not used as catalog prices.

Official source ↗

Maya Mobile

Activation

Plan Details states activation on connection to the network. Each day is a full 24-hour period from plan start. No customer-facing unused-purchase activation deadline was established.

Applies to: Current 3/7/14/30-day Global land-data passes; not Legacy Maya

Official source ↗

Hotspot

Personal hotspot and tethering are included without a stated separate data cap. Commercial resale and fixed home or office broadband replacement are prohibited.

Applies to: Current Global land-data passes

Official source ↗

Refund

Unused data plans can qualify within 30 days of purchase, less processing fees. An activated unusable plan caused by Maya can qualify if not fixed within 10 days of the request; qualifying partial network failure can allow a proportional refund. Requests and troubleshooting requirements apply.

Applies to: Current Maya terms; individual eligibility and deadlines apply

Official source ↗

Choose the package that fits your trip

Use the fixed-data result only when both products satisfy your dates, destinations and total-data requirement. Prefer a differently priced package when its confirmed coverage, sharing or activation conditions fit better. No named provider is the universal winner.

For an unlimited-labelled product, confirm the high-speed and sharing rules separately. For a multi-country trip, verify every stop in the exact product coverage list.

Reference-price labels remain visible and are excluded from unqualified lowest-price verdicts. Research dates belong to the individual records, not to a new check of every provider today.